Marmot Ajax 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

You could call Marmot's Ajax the mullet of tents and we'd support you. With two doors, it's up to you if it's business in front or party in back. Either way, lightweight, bomber construction means three seasons of awesome.

Average Rating based on 78 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 78 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bicycle girl from Maryland on Thursday, February 26, 2015
    i got this tent for bicycle camping, it is lightweight, very easy to put up. We stayed dry and warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karlsson from Iceland on Tuesday, January 20, 2015
    Obviously, for the price of the Marmot Ajax 2... it is a great tent! We absolutely love it! Kept us dry in rain. Easy and quick set up. Have been using it for 1 full summer. Made in China, and I thought it was made in North America. Only thing that bothers us is the fly zipper to get in and out of the tent. It sometimes get caught and the angle is tight, which makes it a little awkward.
    Pros: Lightweight, Good Value, Reliable, Simple design
    Cons: Expensive shipping prices
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cooter Brown from Tennessee on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    This tent is an amazing 2-person backpacking tent. It packs very lightly and is very cozy on the inside. The rainfly pulls out from the door and creates a little covered "porch" area to store your gear on either side of the tent and keep it dry. Also, i could unzip and wrap a side of the fly up and cooked breakfast safely while staying comfy sitting in the tent. It got down to around 24 degrees F and the tent performed wonderfully. There was no sweating on the inside because of the brilliant design. This tent is worth every cent you could possibly pay but thanks to STP you can have for even less.
  • Reviewed by Catalina from Montana on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    We have used this a few times since getting it, including a week in Yellowstone where it rained every day. Not a drop inside though. Very waterproof, incredibly fast to set up solo. I share it with my boyfriend so I don't mind it being snug, though when he and a friend use it they might appreciate a few extra inches. The doors are very large and I love that each side has one so there is no crawling over the other person. Also easy to shake out any dirt with the doors tied open. I've used it by myself a few times and it was perfect. I wish it had a gear loft and/or sturdier side pockets, but that's certainly not a deal breaker, especially at STP prices. It's not the lightest two-person tent out there but is perfect for car camping or fair weather backpackers like myself who only go for a few nights a couple times a year.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Keith W from Michigan on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    I use this tent on overnight hikes. It is light and a breeze to setup/take down. It ventilates well with the rain cover off and you are well protected with the cover on. The zippers, clips, etc seem very durable. I would definitely recommend this tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MT Elk Hunter from Montana on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    Took it on a week long trip into the Beartooth mountains in Montana. A little snug with 2 adults in it, but the vestibules were great for storing gear. Stood up to pouring rain and beating winds without so much as a drop of water inside. Opening the flaps allowed excellent ventilation on hot days. Nice and lightweight. Would definitely purchase again for solo outings. Maybe upgrade to a 3 man tent if sleeping 2 inside.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brad1247 from Tahoe on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Sets up and breaks down in minutes.
    Like sleeping under the stars without bugs.
    Haven't used rain fly yet.
    Weight seems reasonable. Haven't backpacked with it yet, only bait camped .
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saskia from Minnesota on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    Bought this tent to do the GR20. It was lightweight and easy to set up. Really liked the ability to enter from either side.
    It kept us dry in a few rainstorms and performed well in high winds.
  • Reviewed by Jason from Prescott AZ on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    As far as the tent itself goes, it's good and a good price. Camped last night in a downpour and stayed completely dry and comfortable. Tent sets up in a flash. And if you need a footprint, the red quarter dome 2 fits perfectly.

    The problem is, this tent is much smaller than advertised. I'm 6'4" tall (76") and thought 88" would be plenty. But the floor of the tent actually only measures out to about 82", and the walls slope up quickly that there's no way to lay in it without being on both ends of the tent. The mesh/floor meet at 75", so you're guaranteed to touch if you sleep straight. Yes, I actually got out the tape measure to check. Even corner to corner it's a tight fit and something is going to be touching a side of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountainsungal from New Mexico on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    This 2 person tent feels much bigger with separate entrances and separate vestibules. The design is simple, perfect with 2 crossing tent poles. The netting is fantastic for feeling like you are sleeping under the stars. I would rate this tent a 4.8: you could get one lighter, smaller, but not for the $$$. This may be a discontinued model, get it while you can!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 78 reviews
Copyright 2015, Derailed, LLC. All rights reserved.