20% OFF +

FREE SHIP

On orders $65+

Use SITEWHAT1014D at Checkout!

Marmot Ajax 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

You could call Marmot's Ajax the mullet of tents and we'd support you. With two doors, it's up to you if it's business in front or party in back. Either way, lightweight, bomber construction means three seasons of awesome.

Average Rating based on 75 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 75 reviews
  • Reviewed by Catalina from Montana on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    We have used this a few times since getting it, including a week in Yellowstone where it rained every day. Not a drop inside though. Very waterproof, incredibly fast to set up solo. I share it with my boyfriend so I don't mind it being snug, though when he and a friend use it they might appreciate a few extra inches. The doors are very large and I love that each side has one so there is no crawling over the other person. Also easy to shake out any dirt with the doors tied open. I've used it by myself a few times and it was perfect. I wish it had a gear loft and/or sturdier side pockets, but that's certainly not a deal breaker, especially at STP prices. It's not the lightest two-person tent out there but is perfect for car camping or fair weather backpackers like myself who only go for a few nights a couple times a year.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Keith W from Michigan on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    I use this tent on overnight hikes. It is light and a breeze to setup/take down. It ventilates well with the rain cover off and you are well protected with the cover on. The zippers, clips, etc seem very durable. I would definitely recommend this tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MT Elkhunter from Montana on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    Took it on a week long trip into the Beartooth mountains in Montana. A little snug with 2 adults in it, but the vestibules were great for storing gear. Stood up to pouring rain and beating winds without so much as a drop of water inside. Opening the flaps allowed excellent ventilation on hot days. Nice and lightweight. Would definitely purchase again for solo outings. Maybe upgrade to a 3 man tent if sleeping 2 inside.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brad1247 from Tahoe on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Sets up and breaks down in minutes.
    Like sleeping under the stars without bugs.
    Haven't used rain fly yet.
    Weight seems reasonable. Haven't backpacked with it yet, only bait camped .
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saskia from Minnesota on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    Bought this tent to do the GR20. It was lightweight and easy to set up. Really liked the ability to enter from either side.
    It kept us dry in a few rainstorms and performed well in high winds.
  • Reviewed by Jason from Prescott AZ on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    As far as the tent itself goes, it's good and a good price. Camped last night in a downpour and stayed completely dry and comfortable. Tent sets up in a flash. And if you need a footprint, the red quarter dome 2 fits perfectly.

    The problem is, this tent is much smaller than advertised. I'm 6'4" tall (76") and thought 88" would be plenty. But the floor of the tent actually only measures out to about 82", and the walls slope up quickly that there's no way to lay in it without being on both ends of the tent. The mesh/floor meet at 75", so you're guaranteed to touch if you sleep straight. Yes, I actually got out the tape measure to check. Even corner to corner it's a tight fit and something is going to be touching a side of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountainsungal from New Mexico on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    This 2 person tent feels much bigger with separate entrances and separate vestibules. The design is simple, perfect with 2 crossing tent poles. The netting is fantastic for feeling like you are sleeping under the stars. I would rate this tent a 4.8: you could get one lighter, smaller, but not for the $$$. This may be a discontinued model, get it while you can!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny Wishbone from Orangevale, CA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    Just picked this up and honestly have only set it up at home, but I wanted to post a quick review listing the weight of the tent as weighed by a user. This was information that I was looking for before I bought:

    right out of the box with everything: 5lb 0.2 oz.
    without stuff sack 4lb 14.7 oz.
    just poles 14.8 oz.
    stakes 5.5 oz.
    fly 1lb 10.7oz.

    Hope that helps someone. This tent being all mesh I'm thinking without the fly it will be almost useless unless it's really warm. So unfortunately, the weight is the weight. To drop an extra pound I would've had to spend at least double or get a very minimalist style tent, which I don't care for. I do still need a footprint which will add a bit more weight. If anyone has advice on where to get one please drop me a line.
  • Reviewed by Meg from Pennsylvania on Friday, July 4, 2014
    I normally don't ever write reviews, but felt compelled to write one about this tent. Because it was a closeout item, I was skeptical as I took it on a section hike of the Appalachian Trail. This tent worked beautifully! Light, easy to set up, and withstood a torrential rainfall. We were set up in a bad spot, and had a few inches of rain underneath the tent. It was like a waterbed whenever we'd move, but no rain got inside and we were completely dry. I was shocked. I did buy a footprint for underneath the tent. (Could find the exact one to fit this tent, but went with a Marmot brand with similar dimensions.) Plenty of room for 2 people. There was enough room underneath the canopy for our packs.
  • Reviewed by Dirk from Wisconsin on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Great tent, light, easy to set up, you will stay dry in the worst rain. If you are camping solo it fits with plenty of room for you and your gear. If you have two people who are small it would be fine for just people. But that is true of basically all tents and I use it as a solo tent and am 6' 2'' so I love the size. I should say that this tent is so easy to set up that I could set it all up by myself in ten minutes with a broken arm. Final review is that I am more than satisfied with it and would recommend it to anyone.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 75 reviews
Copyright 2014, Derailed, LLC. All rights reserved.