Marmot Ajax 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

You could call Marmot's Ajax the mullet of tents and we'd support you. With two doors, it's up to you if it's business in front or party in back. Either way, lightweight, bomber construction means three seasons of awesome.

Average Rating based on 70 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 70 reviews
  • Reviewed by Jason from Prescott AZ on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    As far as the tent itself goes, it's good and a good price. Camped last night in a downpour and stayed completely dry and comfortable. Tent sets up in a flash. And if you need a footprint, the red quarter dome 2 fits perfectly.

    The problem is, this tent is much smaller than advertised. I'm 6'4" tall (76") and thought 88" would be plenty. But the floor of the tent actually only measures out to about 82", and the walls slope up quickly that there's no way to lay in it without being on both ends of the tent. The mesh/floor meet at 75", so you're guaranteed to touch if you sleep straight. Yes, I actually got out the tape measure to check. Even corner to corner it's a tight fit and something is going to be touching a side of the tent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountainsungal from New Mexico on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    This 2 person tent feels much bigger with separate entrances and separate vestibules. The design is simple, perfect with 2 crossing tent poles. The netting is fantastic for feeling like you are sleeping under the stars. I would rate this tent a 4.8: you could get one lighter, smaller, but not for the $$$. This may be a discontinued model, get it while you can!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny Wishbone from Orangevale, CA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    Just picked this up and honestly have only set it up at home, but I wanted to post a quick review listing the weight of the tent as weighed by a user. This was information that I was looking for before I bought:

    right out of the box with everything: 5lb 0.2 oz.
    without stuff sack 4lb 14.7 oz.
    just poles 14.8 oz.
    stakes 5.5 oz.
    fly 1lb 10.7oz.

    Hope that helps someone. This tent being all mesh I'm thinking without the fly it will be almost useless unless it's really warm. So unfortunately, the weight is the weight. To drop an extra pound I would've had to spend at least double or get a very minimalist style tent, which I don't care for. I do still need a footprint which will add a bit more weight. If anyone has advice on where to get one please drop me a line.
  • Reviewed by Meg from Pennsylvania on Friday, July 4, 2014
    I normally don't ever write reviews, but felt compelled to write one about this tent. Because it was a closeout item, I was skeptical as I took it on a section hike of the Appalachian Trail. This tent worked beautifully! Light, easy to set up, and withstood a torrential rainfall. We were set up in a bad spot, and had a few inches of rain underneath the tent. It was like a waterbed whenever we'd move, but no rain got inside and we were completely dry. I was shocked. I did buy a footprint for underneath the tent. (Could find the exact one to fit this tent, but went with a Marmot brand with similar dimensions.) Plenty of room for 2 people. There was enough room underneath the canopy for our packs.
  • Reviewed by Dirk from Wisconsin on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Great tent, light, easy to set up, you will stay dry in the worst rain. If you are camping solo it fits with plenty of room for you and your gear. If you have two people who are small it would be fine for just people. But that is true of basically all tents and I use it as a solo tent and am 6' 2'' so I love the size. I should say that this tent is so easy to set up that I could set it all up by myself in ten minutes with a broken arm. Final review is that I am more than satisfied with it and would recommend it to anyone.
  • Reviewed by MountainMatt from Boston, North Shore on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    This tent is ideal for summer backpacking trips. The tent is very easy to set up, 1 person can do it pretty easy and 2 people can set it up in 5 minutes or so. The mesh makes it very breathable. I have been caught in 2 extreme downpours with this tent and stayed dry - no leaks or water seeping through the floor. It's liteweight and easy to pack. The only downside is its small. It is roomy enough for 2 smaller people to sleep in, but 2 bigger guys would be tight. Thats the only reason its not a 5 star..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Folly Fullnut from San Francisco, CA on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    I used this for my latest cub scout outing...my son and I had the tent up before everyone else! Very easy to put up. Held up on a very windy day. Light weight. Will use this for back packing.
  • Reviewed by Randy nature lover from North Carolina on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Great tent sets up in minutes,nothing like a two door Marmot.
  • Reviewed by Perp from Utah on Monday, March 17, 2014
    This is a great backpacking tent, especially considering the price. It is a breeze to set up, and the dual doors are very nice to have. The dual vestibules on the rain fly are pretty roomy. Some have commented about it being a bit warm with the fly on, as there isn't much in the way of venting in the fly, apart from unzipping the vestibules. This is a valid concern, but I haven't run into the situation where this has been a problem for me yet.
  • Reviewed by patrick from alabama on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    This tent is roomy, light, and easy to set up. My only complaint is i didnt see a footprint offered for it.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 70 reviews
Copyright 2014, Derailed, LLC. All rights reserved.